×

Anmeldung zum POLYKUM-Newsletter

×

Vielen Dank.

Wir haben ihre Nachricht erhalten und werden Ihnen eine Mitteilung zusenden.

×

Announcement

Objectives

With the BIOPOLYMER Innovation Award, the non-profit Association for the Promotion of Polymer Development and Plastics Technology „POLYKUMwants to honor pioneering products and applications made of bio-based, biodegradable plastics as well as technologies developed for them. POLYKUM supports the award-winners in making their honored projects known to a broad public. Therefore the award ceremony takes place as a highlight of the BIOPOLYMER - processing & moulding congress in Halle (Saale), one of the most important conferences in this field worldwide. Material and product developers, manufacturers, processors and stakeholders from a wide variety of industries should be encouraged to use, develop and to improve these materials.

Eligibility

Companies, research institutions and associations, project groups or individuals from all over the world and from all sectors are invited to apply for the Award. The competition focuses on pioneering products or applications made of bioplastics as well as on groundbreaking technologies for their production, processing and recycling. Applications can be submitted by the originators of the innovations themselves or by third parties.

Criteria of Applying

Developments and inventions from the following areas can be submitted for the competition:

 a) Pioneering products or applications made from bio-based and at the same time biodegradable plastics. Intrinsic biodegradability and environmental compatibility of the submitted plastic products and/or materials are required. Intrinsic biodegradability means that the used materials can be metabolized by microorganisms and enzymes in a bioactive environment. So these materials can become part of natural cycles at the end of their useful life. Certified biodegradability is not mandatory.

b) Particularly innovative bio-based but non-biodegradable materials and products can only take part in the competition if objective technical reasons exclude biodegradability (e.g. due to safety regulations or physical conditions).

c) Innovative technologies that significantly simplify the production, processing or utilization (e.g. recycling, composting) of biopolymers, make them more effective or raise them to a new level of quality.

The innovations should have passed the basic research stage and have realistic chances of entering the market or should already be successfully placed on the market.

Deadline

Applications can be submitted until April 15th, 2024.

For detailed information please check our Call for tender 2024(pdf download).

Awarding ceremony

The awarding ceremony is one of the highlights of the „BIOPOLYMER – Processing & Moulding“ congress on June 11th, 2024 in Halle (Saale), Germany. The event will be streamed live worldwide. In each of the last two years the event brought together people from more than 40 countries of five continents. The winners are invited to present their innovations to this worldwide audience.

The winners 2023

The winners 2022

The winners 2021

The winners 2019

The Award

Bio-based and biodegradable plastics are key materials for eco-efficient material cycles, for an environment free of microplastics and for the minimization of the use of fossil raw materials. Corresponding research and develop­ment activities are, however, still in their infancy. Plastics and products with these special quality features are still not  very common. Against this background, the non-profit organization POLYKUM 2024 is offering the international BIOPOLYMER Innovation Award for the fifth time in order to make pioneering innovations in the field of bioplastics better known, to promote their spread and to encourage the networking of the experts across all branches.

The prize honours pioneering products and technological developments of biodegradable plastics that are able to prepare the ground for further developments of those materials. There are three prizes awarded: The main prize, endowed with 2,000 Euro, a second and a third prize (both not including a cash recompense).

Jury and selection procedure

The award winners are chosen by an independant jury made up of following experts of economy, science, politics and media (in alphabetical order):

  • Dr. Martin Bussmann, Manager Renewable Polymers and Chemicals, Neste Germany GmbH, Düsseldorf.
  • Simone Fischer, editor of the industry magazin „Plastverarbeiter“ ("Plastics Processor"), Hüthig GmbH, Heidelberg.
  • Dr. Patrick Hirsch, expert of bioplastic materials at the Fraunhofer Institute for Materials and Systems (IMWS) Halle (Saale) und at the Fraunhofer Pilotanlagenzentrum (PAZ) Schkopau.
  • Peter Putsch, Chairman of POLYKUM e. V., Merseburg.
  • Michael Walter, Business Development Manager, Hexpol TPE GmbH, Lichtenfels.

The prize winners will be selected by majority decision based on the above mentioned criteria (see objectives). All jury members have the same quantum and quality of votes. After a joint assessment and discussion every juror decides independent and autonomous. The applicants who unite the most votes are the winners.  The legal recourse is excluded.

BIOPOLYMER – Processing & Moulding

The awarding ceremony will be held at the „BIOPOLYMER – Processing & Moulding 2024“ online congress on June 11th 2024 in Halle (Saale), Germany.

To the BIOPOYLMER 2024 website

Awarding and categories

Awarding

The official awarding ceremony will be held at the „BIOPOLYMER – Processing & Moulding 2024“ International Congress on June 11th, 2024 in Halle (Saale), Germany and per Livestream worldwide. The congress is one of most important in the field of biopolymers with registered participants from more than 40 countries in each of the past two years.

Categories

There are three prizes awarded: The main prize, endowed with 2,000 Euro, a second and a third prize (both not including a cash recompense). Every winner receives a certificate, a trophy and the opportunity  to present their innovations in a lecture at the BIOPOLYMER – Processing & Moulding 2024“ congress. Further POLYKUM supports the winners in their PR campaigns and press works.

    Contact

    POLYKUM e. V.

    Peter Putsch
    Brandisstraße 4
    06217 Merseburg
    Germany

    E-Mail: biopolymer-award@polykum.de
    Internet: www.polykum.de/biopolymer-award

    Tel.: +49 (3461) 7940320

    Initiator, Supporter and Media Partner

    Further information on the POLYKUM e. V. You can find on polykum.de website.

    Presse-Echo

×

Anmeldung zum POLYKUM-Newsletter

×

Vielen Dank.

Wir haben ihre Nachricht erhalten und werden Ihnen eine Mitteilung zusenden.

×

Ausschreibung

Zielsetzung

Mit dem BIOPOLYMER Innovation Award möchte die gemeinnützige Fördergemeinschaft POLYKUMwegweisende Produkte und Anwendungen aus biobasierten, biologisch abbaubaren Kunststoffen sowie dafür entwickelte Technologien auszeichnen. Die Preisverleihung findet auf dem internationalen Kongress "BIOPOLYMER - Processing & Moulding" statt, wo die prämierten Projekte auch einem breiten Publikum zugänglich gemacht werden. In den zurückliegenden beiden Jahren verfolgten das Event Zuschauer aus mehr als 40 Ländern auf fünf Kontinenten. Material- und Produktentwickler, Hersteller, Verarbeiter und Akteure verschiedenster Branchen zur Nutzung und Weiterentwicklung anregen und den Austausch zwischen ihnen fördern.

Teilnahmeberechtigte

Für den Preis bewerben können sich Unternehmen, Forschungseinrichtungen und ‑verbünde, Projektgruppen oder Einzelpersonen aus aller Welt und allen Branchen mitselbst entwickelten Produkten oder Anwendungen aus Biokunststoffen beziehungsweise wegweisenden Technologien für deren Herstellung, Verarbeitung und Verwertung. Bewerbungen können durch die Urheber der Innovationen selbst oder durch externe Dritte eingereicht werden.

Teilnahmekriterien

Für den Wettbewerb eingereicht werden können Entwicklungen und Erfindungen aus folgenden Bereichen:
a) Wegweisende Produkte oder Anwendungen aus biobasierten und zugleich biologisch abbaubaren Kunststoffen. Vorausgesetzt wird dabei eine intrinsische Bioabbaubarkeit und Umweltverträglichkeit der eingereichten Kunststoffprodukte und/ oder Materialien. Intrinsische Bioabbaubarkeit meint, dass die verwendeten Materialien am Ende der Nutzungsdauer von Mikroorganismen und Enzymen verstoffwechselt und somit Teil der natürlichen Kreisläufe werden können. Es wird nicht zwingend eine bereits zertifizierte Bioabbaubarkeit vorausgesetzt.

b) Nur sofern objektive technische Gründe eine Bioabbaubarkeit ausschließen (zum Beispiel aufgrund sicherheitstechnischer Vorschriften oder physikalischer Gegebenheiten), können auch besonders innovative biobasierte, jedoch nicht bioabbaubare Materialien und Produkte am Wettbewerb teilnehmen.

c) Innovative Technologien, die die Herstellung, Verarbeitung oder Verwertung (z.B. Recycling, Kompostierung)von Biopolymeren entscheidend vereinfachen, effektivieren oder auf eine neue Qualitätsstufe heben.

Die Innovationen sollten das Stadium der Grundlagenforschung überschritten haben und realistische Chancen auf einen Markteintritt aufweisen oder bereits erfolgreich am Markt platziert sein.

Bewerbungsfrist:

Bewerbungen können bis zum 15. April 2024 eingereicht werden.

Weiterführende Details entnehmen Sie bitte der vollständigen Ausschreibung für 2024 (PDF Download).

Die Preisverleihung

erfolgt auf dem internationalen Kongress „BIOPOLYMER – Processing & Moulding“ am 11. Juni 2024. Der Kongress findet in Halle (Saale) und im kostenlosen Livestream statt. Die Auszeichnungen werden auf der Bühne überreicht. Die Ausgezeichneten erhalten die Gelegenheit, ihre Innovationen der Öffentlichkeit in einem Vortrag und einer Fragerunde zu präsentieren. In den vergangenen beiden Jahren erreichte das Event jeweils bis zu 700 registrierte Teilnehmer in mehr als 40 Ländern auf fünf Kontinenten.

 

Die Preisträger 2023

Die Preisträger 2022

Die Preisträger 2021

Die Preisträger 2019

Der Award

Biobasierte und biologisch abbaubare Kunststoffe sind Schlüsselmaterialien für ökoeffiziente Stoffkreisläufe, eine von Mikroplastik freie Umwelt und die Minimierung des Einsatzes fossiler Rohstoffe. Entsprechende Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten stehen jedoch noch relativ am Anfang. Kunststoffe und Produkte mit diesen Qualitätsmerkmalen sind noch immer wenig bekannt und verbreitet. Vor diesem Hintergrund lobt die gemeinnützige Fördergemeinschaft POLYKUM2024 zum fünften Mal den internationalen BIOPOLYMER Innovation Award aus, um wegweisende Innovationen im Bereich der Biokunststoffe bekannter zu machen, ihre Verbreitung zu fördern und die branchenübergreifende Zusammenarbeit von Experten zu unterstützen.

Jury und Auswahlverfahren

Die Auswahl der Preisträger erfolgt unter allen Einsendern durch die von Polykum bestellte Jury, der folgende Experten aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Medien angehören (Nennung in alphabetischer Reihenfolge):

  • Dr. Martin Bussmann, Manager Renewable Polymers and Chemicals, Neste Germany GmbH, Düsseldorf.
  • Simone Fischer, Redakteurin des Fachmagazins „Plastverarbeiter“, Hüthig GmbH, Heidelberg.
  • Dr. Patrick Hirsch, Experte für Biokunststoffe am Fraunhofer Institut für Werkstoffe und Systeme (IMWS) Halle (Saale) und am Fraunhofer Pilotanlagenzentrum (PAZ) Schkopau.
  • Peter Putsch, Vorsitzender der POLYKUM e. V. – Fördergemeinschaft für Polymerentwicklung und Kunststofftechnik in Mitteldeutschland, Merseburg.
  • Michael Walter, Business Development Manager, Hexpol TPE GmbH, Lichtenfels

Die Nominierung der Preisträger erfolgt auf Basis der veröffentlichten Bewerbungskriterien des Awards. Alle Jurymitglieder verfügen über dieselbe Stimmenanzahl und -gewichtung. Jedes Mitglied entscheidet nach gemeinsamer Beratung und Begutachtung der Einsendungen unabhängig und eigenständig über die Vergabe seiner Stimmen. Der Rechtsweg ist ausgeschlossen.

BIOPOLYMER – Processing & Moulding

Die Verleihung der drei Preise erfolgt auf dem Online-Kongress BIOPOLYMER – Processing & Moulding, am 11. Juni 2024

zur Website des BIOPOYLMER-Kongresses 2024…

Prämierung & Preise

Prämierung

Die offizielle Preisverleihung erfolgt während des internationalen Kongresses
BIOPOLYMER – Processing & Moulding“, der am 11. Juni 2024 in Halle (Saale) stattfindet und zeitgleich im Livestream weltweit übertragen wird.

Preise

Neben dem Hauptpreis, der mit einem Preisgeld von 2.000 Euro dotiert ist, werden auch ein zweiter und ein dritter Preis (beide nicht dotiert) vergeben. Alle Preisträger erhalten darüber hinaus die Möglichkeit, ihre Innovation in einem Vortrag auf dem Kongress BIOPOLYMER – Processing & Moulding 2024“ vorzustellen. Darüber hinaus unterstützt POLYKUM die Preisträger bei der Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit.

    Kontakt für Bewerber und Presse

    POLYKUM e. V.

    Peter Putsch
    Brandisstraße 4
    06217 Merseburg

    E-Mail: biopolymer-award@polykum.de
    Internet: www.polykum.de/biopolymer-award

    Tel.: +49 (3461) 7940320

    Initiator und Förderer

    Detaillierte Informationen zum ausschreibenden POLYKUM e. V. erhalten Sie auf der Website polykum.de

    Presse-Echo